Activities‎ > ‎The Music Room‎ > ‎

American Music Abroad


American Music Abroad is a national organization based in Vorhees, New Jersey providing students with the opportunity to embark on a month-long summer performance tour while traveling throughout Europe. Participants are hand-selected by Mrs. Lucey based on a multitude of criteria including (but not limited to): general musicianship, dedication to Klawock's music program, regular practice and preparation ethics, and an overall positive outlook within the school and community. Once recommended, each student must compile their program application and audition to the program. All audition materials are the same as those for Honor Band and are available for download here: AMA Auditions

American Music Abroad was founded in 1975 by a high school band director and his wife to fulfill their dream of sharing their love of Europe with high school students, college students and adults.  American Music Abroad has organized over 320 musical tours with a specialization/concentration on Western Europe involving over 35,000 participants.  During the past 40 years, we have grown in experience and expertise but have always maintained a value of giving our participants the highest standards and the greatest musical and cultural experiences for the lowest possible price. We do not compromise quality. You can be assured of not only our integrity, but our willingness to serve the participant’s best interests at all times.

Each tour is structured to maximize cultural and educational opportunities. A full-time experienced tour escort travels with each group to ensure that group members will have an enjoyable and rewarding travel experience.

In the view of American Music Abroad, music is indeed an “international language”. It is their mission to provide opportunities for musical exchange fostering better understanding and friendship. American Music Abroad encourages groups to feature a repertoire that represents the diverse culture of America.

Tour destinations include Austria, Belgium, Croatia, Czech Republic, England, France, Germany, Hungary, Ireland, Italy, Luxembourg, Scotland, Slovenia, Switzerland and Wales.